2016 Review 

Every year is the best year and that’s how it should be. I see so many people happy because the year is over. I have heard several times how crappy 2016 has been. I understand that sometimes people deal with a lot through the year but it is important to stay positive. A year is a really long time to look back on and only have negativity towards.

I grew a lot this year as a person. 2016 was filled with a lot of happieness and great times. I’m thankful for the time I spent with my family, for the new friends I made, for the traveling I was able to experience, and for achieving my goals. I can honestly say that this has been the best year yet and I am so excited to see what 2017 has in store.

I said hello to 2016 with these babes. The people closest to you matter, remember that.


I saw Free Throw for the first time in the basement of SubT in Chicago. They’re my favorite band and it was probably one of the greatest shows I’ve ever been to.

@freethrowemo was amazing last night. #FreeThrow #Chicago #Subterranean

A post shared by Sam (@sgbartelt) on

I went to Punta Canta with the fam bam. There’s nothing like laying on beach, swimming, dancing, eating and drinking for 7 days straight with the people you love. It’s always a plus when you go in Janurary and escape the freezing cold Wisconsin weather.


Little Miss Eleanor turned 2 years old. Hopefully 2017 will be the year she will grow out of the “terrible twos ” phase.

Went a little crazy and headed back to Punta Cana for round two with Anthony and his parents for spring break. We had a pretty great time at this resort too.


I discovered the band Pinegrove, possibly the greatest thing to happen to the music scene.

I became an aunt to these two little cuties. My brother and soon to be sister- in-law are now doggy parents to Bella and Bentley.

Mothers Day 2016

Jaylyn turned 21! Wooo! We have been waiting for our 21st birthdays.

Anthony and I moved to Chicago for the summer and lived in a 250 square foot apartment. Who needs a working oven? Hope you like cockroaches and cenepeeds. You get what you pay for. $700 a month in Chicago is nothing.


The food is amazing in Chicago; some of the best food I have ever had. I wish we lived there longer to try a few more places.



Sweets featured above: Stan’s Donuts, Bobtail Ice Cream

Best food I have ever had in my life: Wilde Bar and Restaurant 

Also great food: Buena Vista, Clark Street Dogs, Bamboo Garden, La Cantina, ROCKS Lakeview

I had the best internship and most amazing experience at Hope for the Day, a nonprofit organization that focuses on suicide prevention and mental health education. I met some of the greatest people, learned so much, had fun and helped make a difference. I am so thankful to still be doing work with them. I try to get down to the Chicago office at least once a month. Hands down one of my biggest highlights this year.

Spent the 4th of July at the Great Lakes Naval Base again. Quite frankly, this year was a dud but spending this holiday with the fam has become the regular and I love it.


Aye! Turned 21 this year. Finally legal. Wassup?!


Celebrated by going to Vegas at the end of July! My parents and Anthony’s parents came. Some of his aunts, uncles and cousins came too. Vegas is amazing. We are probably going to go at least once a year. I don’t recommend going when it’s over 100 degrees outside, but whatever. Had a blast and Craps is the most fun. Our flight originally got canceled- don’t fly Spirit Airlines. 

POKÉMON GO became a thing. Anthony and I did a lot of Pokémon hunting in Chicago and the city was great for it. I even came home and Pokémon hunted with Nicole.

Came back from Vegas and went to Door County with my love for the weekend. White Lace Inn is a GREAT bed and breakfast. The Wild Tomato has some kick ass Pizza. They don’t ID anywhere in Door County. Come on people, I literally just turned 21. Hmmm…what was the best part of this little weekend get away? Oh I know…I got ENGAGED. Yup!! Everything was booked for 2017 so mark your calendars for October of 2018. Our venue is booked. I’m going to spend the rest of my life with my best friend.

Oh just when you thought my year couldn’t get more exciting, Anthony and I spontaneously booked two flights to London for the last week of summer. Packed our bags and left. Oh man, that flight was amazing. Free movies, food and wine. We were spoiled.

Best parts of London?

Stonehenge 

Cliffs of Dover

The animals/wildlife

HARRY POTTER FANS THIS IS FOR YOU! Please go to Warner Bros Stuido in London and tour The Making Of Harry Potter. It was amazing. 

London was insane. There’s no where like it in the states. It is so beautiful and the architecture is out of this world. Hostels are nicer than you think if you pick em right. This was the best way to end our summer.

Went back to school, shit got boring.

Fathers Day 2016

Went back to Door County With Anthony’s Parents. Went apple picking, wine tasting and explored the area. 

Babe turned 22. Insert cheesy Taylor Swift lyrics here. Anthony found his love for Purple Door ice cream.

CUBS WON!!!

Featuring: Dani Muscarello 

Anthony and I went to our first concert together five years ago. It was Yellowcard’s first time headlining after they came back from their Hiatus. We saw them for the last time this year because they broke up and are moving on with their lives. Music is a huge part of the foundation of our relationship. Yellowcard is “our band” and will forever hold a special place in our hearts. “when I die, I will die loving you.”

Adam graduated from the Police Academy. Watch out for my badass police officer brother. I am now speeding ticket exempt;)

Oh this is probably the greatsest thing to have happened this year. I graduated college with a bachelor’s degree. Who saw that one coming?  Changed my major 7 times and finished a semester early. Hold your middle finger in the air and give a big “F*** You” to everyone who thought I was never going to graduate. 

P.S. first time with all solid A’s. 4.0 GPA this semester. 

Had a fantastic Christmas/holiday season. Spent it with loved ones and reflected on an amazing year. 

Thanks for being a kick ass year, 2016!

Pending – Graduate school

Fun up ahead – Thailand, potentially Ireland, my brother’s wedding, Anthony’s first year as a full time employee/college grad

2017 is looking pretty good. If you haven’t, check out my other post about my thoughts on all the books I read this year.

Much love to everyone.

Leave a Reply

