2016 Books 

At the beginning of the year I made a New Years resolution to read one book for every month. Well, I partially failed. I did read 12 books, but not one for each month. Some months were busier than others and life just got in the way. In 2017 I’m definitely going to accomplish this goal because I realized how important it is to stick with something that helps reduce stress and anxiety. I noticed that the months where I didn’t read, I was more stressed out. Reading is good for your emotional well being, it works your brain, and helps with your creativity. Here’s what I thought about the books I read this year without spoiling anything. 

This book was amazing. I loved reading every part of Brooklyn, there was never a boring part. I highly recommend it. The movie adaptation of this book is also super good. This is one of only a few situations where I enjoyed the movie and book equally. 

The Choice was a typical cheesy, love story. I mean, Nicholas Sparks wrote it so what else can we expect? It was still a very enjoyable and quick read. While the movie wasn’t so great in my opinion, I did think the book was entertaining and well written. 

I was beyond excited to read this book. I had heard so many great things about it and it covers mental health, a topic I am super passionate about. However, in my opinion, It’s Kind of a Funny Story was a slight let down. I feel like it didn’t really go anywhere and dragged on. There is a movie adaptation that I started to watch but never finished. Overall, I would not read this book again or reccomend it. 

I actually found this book at a Goodwill. The description sounded interesting and I’m still so happy with this purchase. I LOVED this book. What Was Mine was an enjoyable book with a story that is not over done. I personally think anyone who reads this book would like it. 

I read The Fault in our Stars a few years back and again this year for a school project. I thought it was great and still do. Ever since I read that book I have had high hopes for John Green. Unfortunately my next choice, Paper Towns was not impressive to me. This is the third book I have read by him and I would say it is a solid book. Looking for Alaska also touches on mental health which interests me, and Green’s way of writing is easy and fun to read. Overall it  was a good book. I hope it is made into a movie. 

I have had this book since I was in high school and for whatever reason, never read it. All I can say is that THIS BOOK IS AMAZING AND YOU NEED TO READ IT if you are a young adult, or if you have experienced mental health issues in any way shape or form. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher is clever and really pulls you into the story. I read this book in just a few days and was quite bummed when it was over. 

There has been some hype about these books and although I was slightly disappointed, this book still met my expectations. The Diary of an Oxygen Theif was serious book but had a lot of sarcasm and vulgarity that lightened the mood. It’s a shorter book but I think it is the perfect amount. I plan to read the other “anonymous” books as well. I understand why the publisher didn’t acknowledge themselves, I probably wouldn’t have either if I wrote a book like that. 

I don’t care who you are, you need to go read this book right now. I’m pretty sure I read the entire thing in less than 24 hours. IT IS THAT GOOD AND YOU NEED TO READ IT. The movie is also good. Me Before You is a wonderful read and I cannot wait to read Me After You. I literally want to read every single book written by JoJo Moyes and I will, there is just a lot of other books I want to read too. This is one of my favorite books.

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children is one that I was pretty excited for. I read it, liked it and will read the rest of the Peculiar Children books but it wasn’t my favorite. I’m interested to watch the movie because I haven’t yet. It’s a very different and interesting book.  

I actually had to force myself to finish this book. I haven’t seen the movie and I am not really interested in it anyways. The first chapters were good, then it got slow, then good again until about half way through. After that point, I really struggled because it started dragging and in my opinion, nothing very interesting ever happend. The whole story is an interesting idea but how it played out and was told, was not that great. I could have gone without reading The Light Between Oceans. 
 Life’s Golden Ticket was not my favorite book but it was interesting, humorous and had a great point. The beginning is sad, the ending is pretty cool, and the book was good as a whole. It forces you to think about life and the choices you make. It’s a short and easy read so it can’t hurt to try it out! 

I received this as a Christmas present and am done with it already. Obviously, it’s short and not all the pages are filled, but it is amazing. It will make you feel and think about good and bad parts of your life. It is amazing to read and then consider what other people go through in life. milk and honey by Rupi Kaur will definitely be one where I go back and read my favorite pages. 

Leave a Reply

